Banner of Leilukin's Hub

Happy 1st Anniversary to Leilukin's Hub

11 September 2023 marks the first anniversary of Leilukin's Hub, my personal website, hosted on Neocities. I am proud to be able to succeed in not only building my own website, but also updating, improving and maintaining my website to achieve my vision for my own personal hub on the internet outside social media platforms.

I registered a Neocities account on 28 May 2022, while my own website, Leilukin's Hub, was officially launched on 11 September 2022. I set up this website because I wanted to have a personal web page outside social media platforms to gather various stuff and resources I had created or compiled on online spaces throughout the years. Furthermore, I settled for Neocities because I like the flexibility of customisation by coding my website with HTML, CSS and JavaScript. Initially, I considered and tried Carrd to create my web pages, but free accounts on Carrd can only add up to 100 elements on a web page, which is not enough for my purpose.

This site's changelog and layout archive document the evolution of Leilukin's Hub throughout the past year: from the humble beginning of a simple black background with white text and light brown titles, to the responsive, mobile-friendly, full-fledged personal website with its own site button, RSS feed, a blog and multiple shrines.

Coding my own website was also an excellent way to put my HTML and CSS knowledge and skills into good use. I already had basic knowledge of HTML and CSS from what I learned from my teenage years of customising my blog on Blogger.

Working on Leilukin's Hub had ignited my interest in coding, so I took courses to learn more about HTML, CSS, JavaScript and more about coding, and in turn, I put my new coding knowledge into good use by improving and adding more features to Leilukin's Hub, which was totally worth it. Therefore, I have also compiled resources for building websites here for those who need it.

You may feel intimidated by the idea of building your website because you do not know how to code, but good news! There are plenty of resources for you to learn HTML, CSS and JavaScript, including free courses. Neocities also has its own HTML course for you to get started. Happy coding!